Master of Science - Electronic Media

M. Sc. in Electronic Media at the Department of Journalism & Mass Communications at Acharya Institutes is affiliated to Department of Electronic Media, Faculty of Science Bangalore University.


“To be centre of Academic and Research excellence in the field of Information Technology inculcating value based education for the development of quality Human Resource.”

Click here to know more

The two-year Masters programme trains the students to meet the requirements of the electronic media organizations and the society; focuses on cinema, Radio and Television programme productions; educate the students in the areas of research, media management, advertising and Corporate communication and make them aware of the impact of media on society and culture from legal, ethical and professional perspectives. Importantly, this programme will enable the students to emerge as the multi-media journalist with the skills to work both online and offline mediums.

Click here to know more

Post Graduate

Master of Science - Electronic Media
Duration: 2 Years

Eligibility : Candidates who have passed any bachelors degree examination of Bangalore University or any other recognized university and passed graduation with 50% of marks (aggregate of all the subjects including the languages) are eligible. In case of SC/ST categories of students the minimum percentage of marks required shall be 5% less than general categories.

Career Scope :
The two-year M. Sc in Electronic Media is a rigorous programme with theory and practical in every semester. By the end of this course, the student will have gained a broad range of skills in sourcing news for radio, television and online platforms to designing websites. A student could ideally kick-start his or her career as:
1. Television journalist – Reporting
2. Sub-editor / Reporter – Television, radio, website, newspaper, magazine
3. Television journalist – Anchoring
4. Television journalist – Managing the news desk: writing scripts, voicing the stories, editing the videos in tune to the demands of the news room
5. Documentary Producer
6. Web journalist
7. Radio Journalist
8. Graphic Designer
9. Web Designer
10. Programme Producer
11. Film critic
12. Media / Communications Officer
13. Editor – Videos, Audio, Photos
14. Multimedia journalist

Click here to know more

Chief Advisor

Prof. Gurunath Rao Vaidya

Acharya Institute of Graduate Studies.


Prof. Greeshma Peethambaran

Associate Professor & Head,,
Department of English, AIGS.

Member Secretary

Dr. Krishnan Namputhiri

Associate Professor,
Department of English, AIGS.


Mr. AVS Namboodiri

Former Associate Editor,
Department of Economics,
Deccan Herald, Bengaluru.


Dr. Yoganand Rao

Head, Department of English,
St. Clarets College, Bengaluru.